Keisha Walters Wins University Award

Dr. Keisha Walters has been named the 2012 Outstanding Woman Faculty Award winner from the Mississippi State University President’s Commission on the Status of Women. Dr. Walters will be honored at a reception on Tuesday, April 3, in the Coskrey Auditorium of Memorial Hall. Congratulations, Dr. Walters! A link to the full story is here.

Adebola Coker Receives NSBE Schoarship

CHE Graduate student Adebola Coker has been named a NSBE BCA Scholar for 2012. She will be receiving her award at the national meeting on March 31 in Pittsburgh, PA. Congratulations, Bola!

Keisha Walters to Receive National Teaching Award

Dr. Keisha Walters will be named the 2012 recipient of the Raymond W. Fahien Award from the Chemical Engineering Division of the American Society for Engineering Education. This will be formally announced at the summer 2012 conference in San Antonio in June, where Dr. Walters will receive her award. This award is sponsored by Chemical […]

Distinguished Engineering Fellows Honored

The Bagley College of Engineering honored the 2012 Distinguished Fellows. The Swalm School of Chemical Engineering recognized Petroleum Engineering fellow Mr. Tim Duncan and Chemical Engineering fellow Mr. Burt Harrison, who was unable to attend. Timothy S. Duncan is currently the president and CEO of Talos Energy LLC. He graduated from Mississippi State University in […]

Dow VP speaks on the critical need for strong STEM education

STARKVILLE, Miss.–A senior Dow Chemical Co. official led the March 6 Hunter Henry Lectureship at Mississippi State. Don Taylor, vice president for Dow’s purchasing and supply chain organizations, will discuss the importance of STEM educations and careers. STEM is the popular acronym for the teaching of–and careers in–science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. The talk included […]

Bill Holmes Receives 2012 Staff Research Award from the Bagley College of Engineering

Bill Holmes, Director of the Advanced Instrumentation and Mass Spectrometry Laboratory in the Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering, has been awarded the 2012 Staff Research Award from the Bagley College of Engineering. Congratulations, Bill!

CHE Students Receive Mississippi Engineering Society Scholarships

CHE Seniors Glyn Freeman, Jr. and Lennon Martin have been awarded scholarships from the Mississippi Engineering Society. Congratulations!

CHE Faculty Recognized for Patent

At the first Mississippi State University Investing In Innovation Conference (held February 21, 2012) CHE faculty Todd French and Rafael Hernandez were recognized for their 2009 patent “Production of Biodiesel and Other Valuable Chemicals from Wastewater Treatment Plant Sludges.” This work was also carried out with MSU faculty member Darrell Sparks (Department of Biochemistry, Molecular […]

Faculty Receive KiOR / MDA Grants

Two faculty in the Swalm School of Chemical Engineering have received grants from KiOR through the Mississippi Development Authority: Keisha Walters, Characterization of KiOR ReCrude Oils Produced from Pine Clear Wood, Bark, Clear Wood/Bark Mixtures, and Other Blend Feedstocks ($51,413) Rafael Hernandez, Use of Biomass to Remove Organics from Waters Generated During Bio-Oil Production ($50,000)

Three earn scholarships from state petroleum energy society

Three Bagley College of Engineering chemical engineering students are being honored by the Mississippi section of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE-Mississippi). At its January meeting, the organization presented each student a $3,000 scholarship to support his education. The three recipients were also recognized for this same honor last year. Each recipient was nominated by […]