2013 May

CHE Students Complete SACHE Certificates

During the 2012-2013 academic year, 75 undergraduate CHE students completed a total of 582 SACHE (Safety and Chemical Engineering) module administered through the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Generally, these students were in the senior design or chemical process safety courses.

May 22, 2013

PhD Students Marta AmirSadeghi and Navid Zanganeh Receive College Fellowships

CHE PhD Students Marta AmirSadeghi and Navid Zanganeh have received a Bagley Engineering Graduate Fellowship for the 2013-2014 academic year. This support is funded by private donations to the Bagley College of Engineering.

May 21, 2013

Dr. Hossein Toghiani and Dr. Santanu Kundu Receive Seed Funding

Dr. Hossein Toghiani has received $22,000 and Dr. Santanu Kundu has  received $10,000 – both of these are seed grants to collaborate with researchers at the Raspet Flight Research Laboratory. These are collaborative projects and involve faculty and staff across campus.

May 15, 2013

Students Win Service and Plant Design Awards

At the Senior Awards Convocation on May 10th, several CHE students were presented with awards. The AIChE service awards in honor of Dr. Lightsey and Dr. Jefcoat, were given to CHE students Sarah Heintz, Hannah Weems, Kelsey LeSaicherre, Alex Carrubba, Liza Nalley, and Scott Adkins. The Plant Design Awards were also distributed. The first place…

May 14, 2013

Erick Vasquez Receives Materials Certificate

CHE PhD student Erick Vasquez completed the requirements and received the materials certificate at a ceremony on May 10th, 2013. Congratulations, Erick! For more information on the materials certificate, look here.

May 14, 2013

Rai Receives NSF Grant

CHE faculty member Dr. Neeraj Rai has received $195,138 from the National Science Foundation for a project titled “S12-CHE Collaborative Research: Developing First Principles Monte Carlo Methods for Reactive Phase and Sorption Equilibria in CP2K Software Suite.” This proposal is submitted by an international research team consisting of Ilja Siepmann, Ben Lynch (University of Minnesota),…

May 13, 2013

AIChE Elects Officers for 2013-2014

The AIChE student chapter elected officers for the 2013-2014 school year. Presidents: Shane Ables and Alex Carrubba VP External Relations: Chris Callahan VP Internal Relations: Warren Hem Secretary: Sarah Hunt Treasurer: Deirdre Brockwell ESC Council Reps.: Logan Williams, Frankie Hall, Jeff Rucker, Danielle Winans, Derek Migues, and Rachael Fouasnon Intramural Sports Director: Eric Castleberry Community…

May 10, 2013

Renewable Fuels Lab wins Safety Award

The Renewable Fuels Lab was recognized with the 2013 Award for Excellence in Laboratory Safety. The lab is directed by Dr. Rafael Hernandez and Dr. Todd French. The group was nominated by Mr. Bill Holmes, Director of Advanced zinstrumentation. This award is given annually by the Office of Regulatory Compliance and Safety.

May 9, 2013

Erick Vasquez Selected for Symposium

CHE graduate student Erick was selected to present his work “Stimuli-responsive biphasic-polymer Janus magnetic nanoparticles prepared via electrostatic interactions and surface-confined ATRP” at the recent 2013 Excellence in Polymer Graduate Research Symposium on April 9, 2013 held in conjunction with the 245th ACS National Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana. 

May 9, 2013