CHE Students Honored at Spring Commencement

May 14, 2012

At the May 11, 2012 graduation ceremony, 47 chemical engineering students were awarded the Bachelor of Science degree. Several of those students were recognized at a separate awards ceremony within the Swalm School of Chemical Engineering. These awards are supported by the Dow Chemical Company, Henry Family Fund, and Omnova Solutions. The award winners are:

  • Atly and Bette Jefcoat AIChE Award – Kyle Barfield and Bonnie O’Neal
  • George R. Lightsey Leadership Award – Mary Ann Murdock, Dallas Kalber, and Victoria Hartley
  • Plant Design Award (First Place): Joshua Tucker, Mary Ann Murdock, and Dallas Kalber
  • Plant Design Award (Second Place): Jared Schwartz, Joseph Pottratz, and Allen McDonald
  • Plant Design Award (Third Place): Doug Hall, Kevin Hillery, and Matthew Brown
  • Of special note was the university’s recognition of Doug Hall for a 4.0 grade point average

During the spring 2012 semester, two graduate degrees were also awarded:

  • Ashley Cornell, Master of Science, “Studies in Applied Materials Science: Drug-Biofluid Interactions and Light-Emitting Polymer Films” (Dr. Keisha Walters, advisor)
  • Jaclyn Hall, Doctor of Philosophy, “Cultivation of Oleaginous Microorganism Consortium on Municipal Wastewater for the Production of Lipds” (Dr. Todd French and Dr. Rafael Hernandez, co-advisors)

Congratulations to all graduates!