2011 September

AIChE Student Chapter Recognized Again

The student chapter of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers has been recognized as one of 15 AIChE Outstanding Student Chapters nationally (out of more than 165 AIChE chapters). This marks the 11th consecutive year that Mississippi State University has won the award. The group is advised by Dr. Bill Elmore, Associate Director and Hunter…

September 23, 2011

Hydrogen Education Modules Website

Fuel Cell and Energy Modules at Mirror Site The fuel cell and energy modules were developed as part of a multi-university collaboration led by Jason Keith. In concert with Keith’s move to be director (department head) and Earnest W. Deavenport, Jr. Chair at Mississippi State University, these modules have been mirrored at the site: http://www.che.msstate.edu/pdfs/h2ed/….

September 21, 2011

Faculty search in Chemical Engineering

The Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering at Mississippi State University invites applications for a tenure-track faculty position at the Assistant Professor level, with the appointment to begin August 16, 2012. Applicants must have a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering, with a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering or a related field.  The successful candidate will…

September 20, 2011

Students win national design contest awards

Two teams of students have been recognized by AIChE for their performance in the student design contest. The team of Justin Williamson, Derek Needham, and James Wright has been selected for first place and the team of Erin Casey, Rebecca Atkinson, and Andrew Estess has been selected for third place. Congratulations!

September 9, 2011

Former faculty member Dr. John Wolan passes away

The School of Chemical Engineering mourns the death of former faculty member Dr. John Wolan. Services are to be held Saturday, August 27 at 3 p.m., at Tims Memorial Presbyterian Church, 601 Sunset Lane, Lutz, FL, 33549.

September 8, 2011

Walters receives NSF funding

Dr. Keisha Walters is part of a collaborative team (Mississippi State University, University of Southern Mississippi, and University of Mississippi Medical Center) that has received $86,395 of funding from the National Science Foundation for a team project “In Vitro Inhalation and Deposition of Polymer-Stabilized Gold Nanoparticles for Validation of Computer Simulated Particulate Distributions in the…

September 8, 2011

Hernandez receives Hearin Faculty Excellence Award

Dr. Rafael Hernandez has been selected to receive a $10,000 Bagley College of Engineering Hearin Faculty Excellence Award.

September 8, 2011

Dr. Walters and Dr. French receive tenure and promotion

Congratulations to recently tenured and promoted Associate Professor Keisha Walters and Associate Professor Todd French, effective Aug 16 2011!

September 8, 2011

Bricka receives Sun Grant

Mark Bricka has been awarded a Sun Grant project for $180,000 through the Department of Transportation titled “The Development and Evaluation of a Cost Effective Catalyst for the Treatment of Syngas Tars Produced from a Woody Biomass”

September 8, 2011