Keith Elected Division Chair

Dr. Jason M. Keith has been elected as chair of the Education Division of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. This is a two-year appointment which will begin in November 2013.

Neeraj Rai Receives Cray Computer Access

Dr. Neeraj Rai has received 200,000 Service Units (SUs) – about an hour of compuational time each – of start up allocation on Cray XT5 “Kraken” system with a peak performance of 1.15 petaFLOP at National Institute for Computational Sciences located on Oak Ridge National Laboratory Campus. This award is made through Extreme Science and […]

Keisha Walters Named Interim Associate Dean

Keisha B. Walters was named the college’s interim associate dean for strategic initiatives. The position has been established to assist Dean Achille Messac in implementing newly developed programs meant to drive the mission of the college forward. More information is available here.

Dr. Hill Receives NSF Grant

Dr. Priscilla Hill has received a grant of $200,000 from the National Science Foundation entitled “NUE: Multifunctional Nanostructures for Integrated Electrical, Chemical, Mechanical, and Geological Applications: A Multidisciplinary Laboratory Education Program.” Dr. Hill’s co-PI’s include Dr. Carlen Hennington (Counseling and Educational Psychology), Dr. Brenda Kirkland (Geosciences), Dr. Yaroslav Koshka (Electrical and Computer Engineering), and Dr. […]

Dr. Toghiani receives promotion

Congratulations to recently promoted Professor Hossein Toghiani, effective fall 2013!

July 2013 Newsletter Available

The July 2013 Newsletter is now available at this location.

Mark Bricka Receives USDA Funding

Dr. Mark Bricka has received $130,000 from the USDA National Institute for Food and Agriculture through the Sun Grant program for a project titled: “Biomass Gasification: Development and Evaluation of a Cost Effective Bimetallic Clay Catalyst for Woody Biomass Syngas Tar Destruction.” Congratulations, Dr. Bricka!

Meeks Family Supports AIChE Student Chapter

Mr. and Mrs. Lee Meeks has established a gift to provide $1,000 to the AIChE Student Chapter Endowment and also $4,000 to the Bynum L. Meeks Endowed Scholarship in the College of Forest Resources. Mr. Meeks is a 1987 graduate of the Chemical Engineering program at Mississippi State University.

CHE Alumna Highlighted by SME

CHE alumna Lauren Welch was recognized by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers as one of “30 under 30.” Congratulations, Lauren! The story is available here:  

Matching Gifts Close Out Fiscal Year

The Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering has received matching corporate gifts: BHP Billiton Petroleum – $3,000 Entergy Corporation – $1,960 Dow Chemical USA – $1,000 These gifts are for the Chemical Engineering Advancement Fund – used to support improvements in our educational programs. We are grateful to our alumni and corporate sponsors for […]